listen live

Republic of Loose

Band from Dublin

Tracks (2)
Comeback Girl

Republic of Loose

Republic of Loose Biography

Republic of Loose were[1] an Irish funk rock band from Dublin. Formed in 2001, the band formerly consisted of lead vocalist Mick Pyro, bass guitarist and vocalist Benjamin Loose, keyboardist Darragh, guitarists and vocalists Dave Pyro and Darach O' Laoire and drummer and percussionist Andre Lopes. Additional percussion and vocals were provided by Orla La and Emily Rose.

With a self-described musical style of "the stuff your dad likes", the band signed to Big Cat Records in 2003, recording their debut album This is the Tomb of the Juice which was released in 2004. They were named "Hope for 2004" at the 2004 Meteor Awards. In 2005, the singles "Comeback Girl" and "You Know It" received significant airplay on Irish radio. Republic of Loose's second album Aaagh!, released in April 2006, reached number two in the Irish Albums Chart, achieving platinum sales and a Choice Music Prize nomination in the process. It spawned several more successful singles, including "Break" which achieved notoriety in South Africa where a radio station banned it following complaints regarding its allegedly explicit lyrics. Vol IV: Johnny Pyro and the Dance of Evil, Republic of Loose's third album, was released in 2008. That album produced their highest chart performer to date, "The Steady Song", which peaked at number twelve and stayed in the Irish Singles Chart for thirteen weeks. Bounce at the Devil, the band's fourth album, was released in 2010.

Having earned the admiration of several musicians, including members of Snow Patrol and U2, as well as SinĂ©ad O'Connor—with whom they recorded, released and performed a duet at the 2008 Meteor Awards—the band have had their music played on radio stations in Africa, Asia, Europe and North America. The Irish Times placed them at number thirty-seven in a list of "The 50 Best Irish Acts Right Now" published in April 2009,[2] referring to them as "one of Ireland's most original bands" led by "the gruff singer with the extraordinary soul voice [...] simultaneously channelling the spirits of James Brown and James Joyce in one fell swoop."[3] Aside from U2 and Bell X1, they are the Irish band with the most airplay in their native country.[4] In August 2014, vocalist Mick Pyro confirmed that the band had split.[1]

Show more Show less

Republic of Loose Discography

  • 2004AlbumThis Is the Tomb of the Juice
  • 2008AlbumVol IV: Johnny Pyro and the Dance of Evil
  • 2010AlbumBounce At The Devil (Or Vol. 5 Johnny Defeats Satan)
  • -AlbumAaagh!
We use cookies to enhance your experience on Eirewave. You can read our privacy policy here or click Close to continue as before. Close