listen live


Band from Down

Tracks (4)
Girl From Mars


Ash Biography

Ash are a Northern Irish alternative rock band, formed in Downpatrick in 1992 by vocalist and guitarist Tim Wheeler, bassist Mark Hamilton and drummer Rick McMurray. As a three-piece, they released mini-album Trailer in 1994 and full-length album 1977 in 1996. This 1996 release was named by NME as one of the 500 greatest albums of all time.[5] After the success of their full debut the band recruited Charlotte Hatherley as a guitarist and vocalist, releasing their second record Nu-Clear Sounds in 1998. After narrowly avoiding bankruptcy the band released Free All Angels in 2001 and a string of successful singles.

Their fourth record Meltdown, released in 2004, was the band's final record with Hatherley before returning to their original three-piece lineup for their fifth studio album Twilight of the Innocents in 2007. After five conventional albums the band released 26 singles in The A-Z Series in 2009, one every two weeks. The band have had one silver, two gold and two platinum-selling (and chart-topping) records in the United Kingdom, as well as 18 songs in the top 40 of the UK Singles Chart.[6] In 2015, they released a sixth studio album, entitled Kablammo!. They were associated with Britpop, though as that musical movement emphasised Britishness (a controversial state in Northern Ireland), they were not comfortable with the association.[7]

Show more Show less

Upcoming Events (Concerts)

  • Event

Ash Videos

Ash Discography

  • 1994AlbumTrailer
  • 1996Album1977
  • 1997AlbumLive at the Wireless
  • 1998AlbumNu-Clear Sounds
  • 2000AlbumAsh Sampler
  • 2001AlbumEmpire Elite: The Best of the Best Modern Soundtracks
  • 2001AlbumFree All Angels
  • 2002AlbumIntergalactic Sonic 7?s
  • 2004AlbumMeltdown
  • 2007AlbumThen & Now
  • 2007AlbumTwilight of the Innocents
  • 2009AlbumRarities & B-Sides
  • 2010AlbumA-Z, Volume 1
  • 2010AlbumA-Z, Volume 2
  • 2011AlbumThe Best Of
  • 2012AlbumA-Z
  • 2014AlbumLetters From Alphabet City
  • 2015AlbumKablammo!
  • 2016AlbumLive on Mars - London Astoria 1997
  • 2018AlbumIslands
  • -Album1995-06-23: Glastonbury Festival, Somerset, UK
  • -Album1997-02-07: Malmö, Sweden
  • -Album2001-06-06: Peel Session
  • -Album2001-07: T in the Park, Kinross, UK
We use cookies to enhance your experience on Eirewave. You can read our privacy policy here or click Close to continue as before. Close